NEW CELL PHONE LAW IN EFFECT TODAY!
July 1, 2019 4:59PM CDT
*State of Illinois New Law Effective today (Monday, July 1st)* Tickets for use of an electronic device while driving are now classified as moving violations in the state of Illinois. Using a phone, tablet, or similar device while driving results in a $75 ticket for a first offense. The fine increases $25 for each subsequent offense, and three moving violations in 12 months can result in a suspended license. Hands-free phone use is still legal, as is using a phone while stopped and pulled off to the shoulder.
* I was also told that in Plainfield you can’t use the phones even while stopped, you must pull over. I assume there are other towns with this rule.